San Jac music students achieve All-State honors

Mar 1, 2024Melissa Trevizo
News Graphic

Twenty-eight San Jacinto College music students were selected for two-year college All-State choir, jazz band, and symphonic band — the highest honor community college music students can achieve.  

Four of these students have earned spots in two different ensembles or through two different instruments.  

“For the third year in a row, San Jac has more students represented in the All-State ensembles than any other community college in the state,” said Lynne Brandt, department chair of music and audio engineering. “We are so proud of their hard work and hours of rehearsal time that led to their achievement.”  

Central Campus percussion student Carlos Hernández-Chavarria won the Texas Community College Band Directors Association concerto competition. He is the second student from San Jac to win this honor. Hernández-Chavarria performed with the all-state symphonic band at the Texas Music Educators Association conference. 

Each year since 2020, the College has increased its qualifying students: 

  • 2024: 28 students qualified, concerto competition winner, faculty presentation
  • 2023: 23 students qualified, concerto competition winner, steel band performance
  • 2022: 17 students qualified
  • 2021: Pandemic—no convention
  • 2020: 10 students qualified

The students performed with other all-state musicians in concerts scheduled during the annual Texas Music Educators Association conference at the Henry B. Gonzalez Convention Center in San Antonio. 

Qualifying students are: 

  • Carlos Alvarenga
  • Jorge Arredondo
  • Felicity Cabrera
  • Jordy Cabrera
  • Christina Colocado
  • Josue Del Angel
  • Vicente Del Angel
  • Carissa Dixon
  • Coleson Dorsett
  • Molly Ellard
  • Brandon Falknor
  • Nahum Fuentes
  • Carlos Hernández-Chavarria
  • Olivia Keith
  • Liliana Lopez
  • Omar Maldonado
  • Gaby Martinez
  • Mason Medlin
  • Sterling Merrill
  • Shawn Niles
  • Kenya Pacheco Garcia
  • Cohen Perkins
  • Luis Rodriguez
  • Bryce Royall
  • Lindsey Soltis
  • Casandra Tenorio
  • Brandon Vergara
  • Steven Villanueva


Categorized As