San Jacinto College District Board Meeting Minutes

March 6, 2017

The Board of Trustees of the San Jacinto Community College District met at 7:00 p.m., Monday, March 6, 2017, in Room 104 of the Thomas S. Sewell District Administration Building, 4624 Fairmont Parkway, Pasadena, Texas, for the Regular Board Meeting.

Board of Marie Flickinger **Trustees:** Brad Hance

Dan Mims, Chair

John Moon, Jr., Secretary

Keith Sinor, Assistant Secretary

Dr. Ruede Wheeler Larry Wilson, Vice Chair

Chancellor: Brenda Hellyer

Others Present: Amy Austin Allatia Harris Danny Snooks

Mike Austin Karen Hattaway Rob Stanicic Joshua Banks Joseph Hebert Susan Starr Allen Bourque Erika Hernandez Janice Sullivan Bruce Caldwell Nico Hovsepian Susan Temple Michelle Callaway Sallie Kay Janes Atai Trevino Brenda Jones Steve Trncak Pam Campbell Ruth Keenan Jesus Villegas Tyler Cashiola Ann Kokx-Templet Rachel Chapa Wayne Wauters

Van Wigginton

Jose Cortez Marco Lozano
Jose Cortez Jr. Floyd McConnell
Jose Cortez III Danielle McGrath
Kayla Cortez Kevin McKisson
Teri Crawford Barbara McLendon
Suzanne DeBlanc Kim Miller-Davis

Vickie Del Bello Bruce Moore

Shanna Dement Catherine O'Brien

Bill Dowell
Chris Duke
Kenneth English
Maria Fargo
Amanda Fenwick
Yvonne Frear
John Grimes
Susan Palmer
Bill Raffetto
Shelley Rinehart
Sandra Ramirez
Jennifer Ramsey
Brian Schneider
Shanna Schultz

Anna Guevara Jill Scott

Call the Meeting to order:

Chair Dan Mims called the regular meeting of the Board of Trustees to order at 7:01 p.m.

Roll Call of Board Members:

Marie Flickinger Brad Hance John Moon, Jr. Keith Sinor Dr. Ruede Wheeler Larry Wilson

Invocation and Pledges to the Flags:

The invocation was given by Sallie Kay Janes. The pledges to the American flag and the Texas flag were led by John Moon, Jr.

Special Announcements, Recognitions, and Presentations:

- 1. Ruth Keenan presented the LBC Terminal check presentation. LBC Terminal representatives present were John Grimes and Bruce Moore.
- 2. Dr. Brenda Hellyer introduced the San Jacinto College Monument Award recognition. She presented the Institutional Research and Effectiveness Team with their award. Present to accept the award were George Gonzalez, Michelle Callaway, Maria Fargo, and Marco Lozano. Steve Trncak and Rob Stanicic presented the award to the Cornerstone Implementation Team. Present to accept the award were Shanna Dement, Jill Scott, Anna Guevara, Jennifer Ramsey, Vickie Del Bello, Wayne Wauters, Phillip Leteff (not present), Nico Hovsepian, Linh Pham, and Michael Austin. Dr. Bill Raffetto presented to the Student Success Center Advisory Committee. Present to accept the award were Susan Palmer, Karen Hattaway, Kim Miller-Davis, Pat Amezcua (not present), Brian Corbin, Carla Garrett, Jon Nelson, Danielle McGrath, Rachel Chapa, and Erika Hernandez.
- 3. Dr. Bill Raffetto recognized Floyd McConnell for being named the Texas Intercollegiate Forensic Association Educator of the Year. Previous and current students of Floyd's, Shanna Schultz, Tyler Cashiola, Jesus Villegas, and Atai Trevino, commented on his impact on them.
- 4. Van Wigginton recognized Yvonne Frear for being named outstanding Alumni for Texas Southern University.

Student Success Presentations:

- 1. Michelle Callaway presented a report on fall course retention and success rates.
- 2. Dr. Catherine O'Brien gave an update on the University Center plan.

Communications to the Board:

- 1. A thank you was sent to the Board from Hilda Boyce, for the plant sent in memory of her mother.
- 2. A thank you was sent to the Board from Rosemary Morales, for the plant sent in memory of her father.

Hearing of Such Citizens or **Groups of**

The following citizen desiring to be heard before the Board spoke for five

minutes.

Citizens Desiring to be Heard

Before the Board:

1. Brian Schneider provided comments and concerns regarding the

discontinuation of the men's basketball program.

Dan Mims thanked Mr. Schneider for his comments.

Informative Reports:

Dan Mims indicated such reports were in the Board documents.

Motion 9767 Consideration of Approval of

Motion was made by Larry Wilson, seconded by Keith Sinor, for Approval of Amendment to the 2016-2017 Budget for Restricted Revenue and Expenses Relating to Federal and State Grants.

Amendment to the 2016-2017

Budget for

Motion Carried.

Restricted

Revenue and **Expenses Relating**

to Federal and **State Grants**

Yeas: Flickinger, Hance, Moon, Jr., Sinor, Wheeler, Wilson

Navs: None

Motion 9768 Consideration of Approval of a

Budget

Motion was made by Dr. Ruede Wheeler, seconded by Marie Flickinger, for Approval of a Budget Amendment for Property Tax Revenue, Tuition and Fee Revenue, and Part-time Faculty and Staff Expenditure.

Amendment for

Motion Carried.

Property Tax Revenue, Tuition

and Fee Revenue. and Part-time **Faculty and Staff Expenditure**

Yeas: Flickinger, Hance, Moon, Jr., Sinor, Wheeler, Wilson

Navs: None

Consideration of Policy II.A.2000,

Policy and

Procedure Development, Review, and

Revisions – First Reading (Information

Only)

Informational item on Policy II.A.2000, Policy and Procedure

Development, Review, and Revisions – First Reading.

No vote needed.

Motion 9769 Consideration of Approval to

Motion was made by John Moon, Jr., seconded by Dr. Ruede Wheeler, for

Approval to Modify Incidental & Lab Fees.

Modify Incidental & Lab Fees

Motion Carried.

Yeas: Flickinger, Hance, Moon, Jr., Sinor, Wheeler, Wilson

Nays: None

Motion 9770 Consideration of Purchasing Requests Motion was made by Keith Sinor, seconded by Brad Hance, for approval

of the purchasing requests.

Purchase Request #1 -

Data Cabling and Upgraded Systems Components \$91,000

Purchase Request #2 -

Method of Procurement for 2015 Bond Projects

Purchase Request #3 -

Apprenticeship Training Services 209,446

Purchase Request #4

Asphalt and Concrete Paving Services 225,000

Purchase Request #5

Lean Six Sigma and Project Management Training Services 100,000

Purchase Request #6

Hamilton G5 Ventilators 77,700

Purchase Request #7 -

Cloud Based IT Help Desk Solution <u>55,500</u>

TOTAL OF PURCHASE REQUESTS \$758,646

Motion Carried.

Yeas: Flickinger, Hance, Moon, Jr., Sinor, Wheeler, Wilson

Nays: None

Motion 9771 Consent Agenda Motion was made by Larry Wilson, seconded by Dr. Ruede Wheeler, to

approve the consent agenda.

Motion Carried.

Yeas: Flickinger, Hance, Moon, Jr., Sinor, Wheeler, Wilson

Navs: None

Adjournment: Meeting Adjourned at 7:50 p.m.